SunPAC & 4MBS present

The Mighty Grieg Piano Concerto:

in honour of Howard Ainsworth

Event Details

Sat 30 July 2022


SunPAC 470 McCullough St Sunnybank


Adult: $30
Concession: $25
Group 10+: $27 Each
Student: $15
4MBS Members: $25

Running Time

70 minutes (no interval)


Join us in remembering the beloved Howard Ainsworth AM with this performance of two of Howard’s favourite compositions. Howard was the ‘voice of classical music’ in Queensland for over 50 years; as a presenter at the ABC and on 4MBS Classic FM.

Romantic era composers Schumann and Grieg were enjoying a happy time in their lives when they created these popular works. Robert Schumann’s delightfully melodic Symphony No. 3 was inspired by a peaceful trip he and his wife Clara took to the Rhineland, in Western Germany.

Edvard Grieg was in an idyllic part of Norway when he wrote his popular Piano Concerto. With its dramatic and iconic opening notes, the powerful and thrilling work ventures between an array of moods and colours. Don’t miss experiencing this work with piano soloist John Granger Fisher, an internationally acclaimed pianist who has recently returned to Brisbane.

The 2022 4MBS Orchestra in Residence, Orchestra Corda Spiritus, will be conducted by Chen Yang, one of the most highly regarded musicians in Queensland.

Program details:

SCHUMANN, Robert   Symphony No. 3 in E flat major Op. 97

GRIEG, Edvard   Piano Concerto in A minor Op. 16

Soloist: John Granger Fisher

Conductor: Chen Yang

Chen Yang
John Granger Fisher
Orchestra Corda Spiritus
Proudly Supported By
Brisbane City Council